Capacity throttling can prevent the creation of a new session or the upgrade of an existing session. Existing sessions continue to work.
When capacity usage reaches its limit, users might see a capacity usage limit error when they open a plan item or perform an action that requires a higher session type.
The following scenarios describe what happens when capacity is throttled.
When a user who doesn't have an existing session opens a plan item while the capacity is throttled, the new Viewer session fails. The user can't view the plan item and sees a capacity usage limit error.

When a user has an active session and performs an action that requires a higher session type, the session upgrade fails if the capacity is throttled. The following scenarios describe the session upgrade failures.
When a user has an active Viewer session and performs an action that requires a Stakeholder session, the session upgrade fails if the capacity is throttled. The user sees a capacity usage limit error.

When a user has an active Stakeholder session and performs an action that requires a Planner session, the session upgrade fails if the capacity is throttled. The user sees a capacity usage limit error.

